In regards to egg donation, the past month and a half or so since I last posted has been quiet.  The agency occasionally contacted me to let me know that a couple was maybe interested, or that they were in the process of deciding between a few donors, myself included.  I even got a call when I was at Disneyland for my neighbor’s birthday.  Not only was the reception terrible, but I found that the happiest place on earth is also the noisiest place on earth–impossible to find a quiet spot to listen to a very important voicemail.

On November 4th, however, I received a call from the agency confirming that I had been picked by a couple who wanted to start immediately!  Now, this was obviously exciting but I was a little bit more excited than last time, since my donor agency works nationally.  Basically, that means that if a couple in Boston flip through the agency’s profiles and decide they want me as an egg donor, I get free trips to Boston.  Albeit for doctor’s appointments, but still.  During the week of your retrieval, they fly you and a companion out, put you up in a hotel, pay for your transportation to and from the clinic, and give you and your companion each a daily $50 dollar stipend to take care of food and whatever else you want.  Pretty sweet deal if you ask me.

So immediately I asked the woman on the phone where the clinic was.  And praise the heavens!  The clinic is located in FABULOUS NEW YORK CI–just kidding, it’s in a small city about 20 minutes away.  *sigh*  Maybe someday….

Anyway, today was my first appointment with the clinic.  I have a cold (again), but made sure to stay away from any kind of cough syrup that would make me look like a junkie again.  Upon arriving, I also found that I left my wallet and paperwork from my first cycle at home on the coffee table.  Deja vu.

Despite these setbacks, the appointment went well.  They spared no time in getting as much blood and urine out of me as they could before I started protesting.  A physician’s assistant gave me a physical exam and pap smear and used the all-too-familiar vaginal ultrasound to take a look at my ovaries.  The clinic in Northern California had a separate monitor on the wall that you could look at while getting the ultrasound, but this clinic didn’t.  I just trusted that my ovaries looked good.  At least I won’t have to experience looking at lotus breast ovaries again once I start my meds.

That’s another thing that’s going to be different this time.  I get a down payment!  Once I start the fertility meds, I get a check for 10% of my donor fee.

After the exam, I spent another half hour or so signing no less than ten different consent forms and getting a rundown from my nurse coordinator and the doctor.  The intended parents apparently are hoping for the retrieval to be done before Christmas, but my coordinator doesn’t think that’s likely to happen.  Realistically, I’m probably aiming for an early January retrieval.

With that, they loaded me up with paperwork and forms, including a spiral-bound information book, and booted me out into the beginning of LA rush hour traffic. ^_^

I didn’t get a chance to look through the book until just now.  It seems that they were tired of keeping all these different information pages and forms organized, so they just put them all in a stack, had it spiral bound, and now just hand them out to all of their patients, regardless of what kind of procedure they’re having done.  I now possess a veritable Necronomicon of fertility tests and procedures.  Always wanted to know how a Diagnostic Hysteroscopy is performed?  How about a hysterosalpingogram?  Best of all, I have “Instructions for Mixing Test Yolk Buffer with Semen at Home”  (in 7 easy steps).  There’s a treasure trove of information in here, some of which I’ll wait ’til later posts to mention.  But most importantly, this book taught me that if a pregnant woman’s cervix dilates too soon and she miscarries, she is said to have a case of “incompetent cervix.”

cervix

